Topics Map > Windows
Topics Map > Mac

Google Chrome - Clear browsing data

You have control over your browsing data. This information includes things like your browsing history, saved form entries, and other types of data.

You can delete all your data on just some from a specific period of time.


Delete your browsing data

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click More More.
  3. Click More tools and then Clear browsing data.
  4. In the box that appears, at the top, choose a time period, such past hour or past day. To delete everything, select beginning of time.
  5. Select the types of information you want to remove. 
  6. Click Clear browsing data.
Different types of data
  • Browsing history: Clearing your browsing history deletes the following:
    • Web addresses you've visited are removed from the History page.
    • Shortcuts to those pages are removed from the New Tab page.
    • Any IP addresses pre-fetched from those pages are removed.
  • Download history: The list of files you've downloaded using Chrome is cleared, but the actual files are not removed from your computer.
  • Cached images and files: Browsers remember parts of webpages to help them load faster during your next visit. Text and images from webpages you've visited in Chrome are removed.
  • Cookies and other site data:
    • Cookies: Cookies are files created by websites you visit. With cookies, sites can keep you signed in, remember your site preferences, and give you locally relevant content.
    • Site data: HTML5-enabled storage types including application caches, Web Storage data, Web SQL Database data, and Indexed Database data.
  • Passwords: Records of passwords you saved are deleted.
  • Autofill form data: All your Autofill entries and records of text you've entered on web forms are deleted.
  • Hosted app data: Data from the apps you’ve added to Chrome from the Chrome Web Store are erased, like the local storage used by Gmail Offline.
  • Media licenses: Prevents Flash Player from playing any previously viewed protected content, such as movies or music that you’ve purchased. It’s recommended to deauthorize content licenses before selling or donating your computer.

What deleting does

  • If you sync data on multiple devices, deleting it on one device will delete it from all devices the next time they sync. You can choose which data types you want to sync.
  • Saved site settings, like microphone or location permissions, aren't deleted here. You can delete saved site settings by updating your content settings.
  • Deleting cookies will sign you out of most websites. On mobile, if you’re signed in to Chrome, you won’t be signed out of Google.

For more information, please visit the Google Support website. 

If you have any questions, come by the Help Desk at Hardman & Jacobs Undergraduate Learning Center Room 105, call 646-1840, or email us at help@nmsu.edu.




Keywords:google chrome clear browsing data windows mac   Doc ID:72833
Owner:John B.Group:New Mexico State University
Created:2017-04-24 12:02 MDTUpdated:2017-11-08 12:49 MDT
Sites:New Mexico State University
Feedback:  0   3