Topics Map > Windows
Topics Map > Mac
Google Chrome - Reset Chrome settings to default
You can restore your browser settings in Chrome at any time. You might need to do this if apps or extensions you installed changed your settings without your knowledge. Your saved bookmarks and passwords won't be cleared or changed.
- On your computer, open Chrome.
- At the top right, click More Settings.
- At the bottom, click Show advanced settings.
- Under the section "Reset settings,” click Reset settings.
- In the box that appears, click Reset.
These steps won't provide a full reset. For example, some settings like fonts or accessibility won't be deleted.
What changed when you restore your settings
The following settings will change back to default:
- Default search engine, which is changed back to Google.
- Homepage and tabs.
- The new tab page.
- Tabs you have pinned
- Content settings, like letting a site show you pop-ups or use your microphone.
- Cookies and site data, like items in an online shopping cart.
- Extensions and themes.
Only the settings for the Chrome profile you're signed in to will be reset. Your new settings will apply to all computers or devices where you're signed into your active profile.
Troubleshoot reset problems
For more information, please visit the Google Support website.Settings menu missing or won't openIf the settings menu doesn't open or isn't there, Chrome might have a problem. To fix, uninstall Chrome then download Chrome again from google.come/chrome and reinstall it.If you're still having problems, you might have a problem installed that is changing your Google Chrome settings.Chrome reset my browser settingsSometimes, programs that you install can change your Chrome settings without you knowing. For your safety, the browser checks if your settings have been changed every time you launch Chrome. If Chrome notices that something's not right in your settings, it will automatically go back to the original settings.
Settings that might automatically get reset:
- Default search engine
- Startup pages
- Pinned tabs
- ExtensionsChrome will start reset your settings if you're not signed in to Chrome. If you're signed in to Chrome, you'll still see your usual settings.