Topics Map > Windows
Topics Map > Mac

Google Chrome - Manage warnings about unsafe sites

Google Chrome tells you if the site you're trying to visit is dangerous or deceptive. These sites are also called "phishing" or "malware" sites.


Get warnings about dangerous & deceptive sites


Phishing and malware detection is turned on by default. When it's turned on, you might see the following messages. If you see one of these messages, we recommend that you close the tab and don't visit the site.

  • The site ahead contains malware: The site you're trying to visit might try to install bad software, called malware, on your computer.
  • Deceptive site ahead: The site you're trying to visit might be a phishing site.
  • The site ahead contains harmful programs: The site you're trying to visit might try to trick you into installing programs that cause problems when you’re browsing online.

Download with caution: Some sites try to trick you into downloading harmful software by telling you that you have a virus. Be careful not to download any harmful software.


View unsafe sites, content & downloads

You can visit a page or access a downloaded file that is showing a warning. This is not recommended.

Visit an unsafe page

    1. On the page where you see a warning, click Details.
    2. Click Visit this unsafe site.
    3. The page will load.

When you visit a deceptive site, Chrome will try to remove the unsafe content from the page.

To view the entire page:

    1. To the right of the address bar, click Content blocked Content blocked icon.
    2. In the alert, click Load full site.
    3. The page will load.

Download an unsafe file

    1. At the top right, click More More icon and then icon Downloads.
    2. Find the file you want to download.
    3. Click Recover malicious file.

Turn off warnings about dangerous & deceptive sites

If you don't want to be warned about unsafe content, you can turn off deceptive and dangerous site alerts. This also turns off download warnings.

We do not recommend turning off alerts.

    1. On your computer, open Chrome.
    2. At the top right, click More More icon and then icon Settings.
    3. At the bottom, click Show advanced settings.
    4. Under "Privacy," uncheck the box next to "Protect you and your device from dangerous sites."

What warnings about dangerous & deceptive sites mean

  • Deceptive sites (also known as "phishing" or "social engineering" sites) try to trick you into doing something dangerous online, such as revealing passwords or personal information, usually through a fake website.

  • Dangerous sites (also known as "malware" or "unwanted software" sites) can harm your computer or can cause problems when you’re browsing online. 

  • Google Safe Browsing: To protect you from dangerous websites, Google maintains a list of websites that might put you at risk for malware or phishing. Google also analyzes sites and warns you if a site seems dangerous. 

  • Using a Chromebook at work or school? Your network administrator might set up phishing and malware detection for you, in which case you can't change this setting yourself. 

My site or software is marked dangerous

  • Site owner: If you own a site marked as dangerous or deceptive, you can change your website and request a review.

  • Software owner: If you're a software publisher and your downloads are flagged by Chrome, resolve malware issues with your downloads.

For more information, please visit the Google Support website.

If you have any questions, come by the Help Desk at Hardman & Jacobs Undergraduate Learning Center Room 105, call 646-1840, or email us at help@nmsu.edu.




Keywords:google chrome manage unsafe sites warning mac pc windows   Doc ID:72987
Owner:John B.Group:New Mexico State University
Created:2017-04-28 09:07 MDTUpdated:2017-11-28 14:21 MDT
Sites:New Mexico State University
Feedback:  0   0