Topics Map > Windows
Topics Map > Mac

Google Chrome - Share your location

Get more useful information from sites by letting them see your location. For example, by sharing your location, you can find food near you faster.


Let a site know your location

By default, Chrome asks you when a site wants to see your location. To let the site know where you are, choose Allow. Before sharing your location, review the site's privacy policy.

If you use Google as your default search engine on your phone, your location is used by default for your searches on Google.

Change your default location settings

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click More More icon and then icon Settings.
  3. At the bottom, click Show advanced settings.
  4. In the "Privacy" section, click Content settings.
  5. Find the "Location" section.
  6. Choose the option you want as your default setting.

Using Chrome or a Chromebook at work or school? Your network administrator might set location settings for you. 

How Chrome shares your location

If you let Chrome share your location with a site, Chrome sends information to Google Location Services to get an estimate of where you are. Chrome can then share that info with the site that wants your location.

For more information, please visit the Google Support website.


If you have any questions, come by the Help Desk at Hardman & Jacobs Undergraduate Learning Center Room 105, call 646-1840, or email us at help@nmsu.edu.




Keywords:google chrome share your location windows mac   Doc ID:73030
Owner:John B.Group:New Mexico State University
Created:2017-05-01 10:09 MDTUpdated:2017-11-28 14:53 MDT
Sites:New Mexico State University
Feedback:  0   0