Mark as Final: Make the document read-only.
When a document is marked as final, typing, editing, commands, and proofing marks are disabled or turned off and the document becomes read-only. The Mark as Final command helps you communicate that you're sharing a completed version of a document. It also helps prevent reviewers or readers from making inadvertent changes to the document.
When you mark a document as final, Word asks you to save the file. The next time you open it, you will see a yellow MARKED AS FINAL message at the top of the document. If you click Edit Anyway, the document will no longer be marked as final.
Encrypt with Password: Set a password for the document. Note: Keep your password in a safe place. If you lose or forget the password, it cannot be recovered.
When you select Encrypt with Password, the Encrypt Document dialog box appears. In the Password box, type a password, and then type it again when prompted. Important: Microsoft cannot retrieve lost or forgotten passwords, so keep a list of your passwords and corresponding file names in a safe place.